Follow us on:
About IIT Indore: History
In keeping with India's vision to become a world leader in science and Technology and to usher in a new revolution, resulting in an unprecedented economic growth, Government of India reassessed the need of technical manpower and decided to set up eight new IITs. Six of these started functioning back from the academic year 2008-09. These were established at Hyderabad, Gandhinagar, Rajasthan, Ropar, Patna and Bhubaneswar.

IIT Indore and IIT Mandi started functioning from July 2009.
Indian Institute of Technology Indore located in Madhya Pradesh, known as IIT Indore or IITI, is an institute of national importance established by the Government of India in 2009. It is one of the eight new IITs, started by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (India), Government of India.
The institution started functioning from 2009-10 in a temporary campus at Institute of Engineering and Technology of Devi Ahilyabai University under mentorship of IIT Bombay.

Arjun Singh, the HRD minister of India laid the foundation of the permanent campus, spread over an area of 510-acre (2.1 km2), on 17'th February 2009 at Simrol, a location about 25 km from the city of Indore.

IIT Bombay is the mentor of IIT Indore. To coordinate various activities in connection with the establishment of the new IIT at Indore, Prof Devang Khakhar, Director of IIT Bombay, mentor director of IIT Indore set up a Cell comprising Convener and several senior Faculty of IIT Bombay. IIT Indore will shift to its permanent campus in 2012.  Prof. Pradeep Mathur has been appointed as the first director of IIT Indore.

History of IITI